1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Media impact on elections

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by alleyallen, Nov 29, 2007.

1. alleyallen

alleyallen Guest

Hi folks,

I'm a former journalist myself but left the business almost three years ago for a new career. This career also allowed me to go back to college...

Which brings me to today. I'm doing a research paper on the media's impact on elections. There's plenty of details I can on this topic for national elections, but what about local elections?

Do any of you have real knowledge of how a paper impacts local elections/politics? If so, please PM me. I'm not trying to out anyone...just trying to get some additional details for my paper.

2. Commodore --
    Most state houses have independent news bureaus -- and there's a thing called the States News Service in DC -- and these will be able to get you in touch with local political reporters all over the country.
    You might also try ti constituent services offices of congresscritters.

3. alleyallen

alleyallen Guest

Well, I've spoken to the people at my former rag (they all know me well) to get their take on the paper's impact to local politics. I'm just looking for more supporting information in a quick manner.

I know...I'm lazy.

4. Cansportschick

Cansportschick Active Member

Alley, I had to do two papers on this topic, one for Public Opinion in Canada course and another for Canadian Political Systems Course.

One of the things I did was link up local, federal, and provincial elections and the impact the media has had.