1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Media Guides question

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by RogerDorn, Mar 10, 2007.

1. RogerDorn

RogerDorn New Member

I am a freelancer who has built up a decent sized gaggle of media guides from the past two years. They are cluttering up my apartment, but I don't want to simply throw them away. I am damn near positive that the places I have freelanced for don't want them; they don't want the clutter anymore than I do. What does everyone else do when faced with this dilemma? Do I sell them on eBay?

2. Cadet

Cadet Guest

Don't be afraid to rip them up - tear out the stuff you want or the stuff you think you'll use again (like that cool section on John Wooden from the UCLA men's basketball guide, or information on Local U's players-in-the-pros). Then take what's left, like the crappy academic section or the three-page bio on the bench player, to the recycle bin.

Depending on what you have you could try eBay, but 1) hard-core fans purchase new guides each year and 2) nobody wants the Bumblefuck Community College softball guide.

3. Moderator1

Moderator1 Moderator Staff Member

That's why God invented recycling bins.
    Nothing in those guides you can't get online.

4. Mighty_Wingman

Mighty_Wingman Active Member

Definitely trash 'em. I dumped a whole bunch the other day...it can be liberating.

Also -- not to be Debbie Downer -- wouldn't it be unethical to turn a profit from media guides you received for free as part of your professional life?

5. NFL media guides are worth saving. i have full binders going back quite a ways in the basement.