1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Marcus Sales profile - long

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by stephencohencopy, Apr 3, 2013.

1. stephencohencopy

stephencohencopy New Member

Hey all,

I'm a grad student at the Newhouse school and an intern for the Syracuse New Times, an alternative weekly here in Central New York. Wrote this profile for them. Would love your feedback.

SALES PITCH

(Editor’s note: This is the first story chronicling the journey of former Christian Brothers Academy and Syracuse University wide receiver Marcus Sales as he prepares for April’s NFL Draft. We’ll check back in with him the weekend of the draft.)

Soft. It’s something no athlete wants to be labeled, but in Marcus Sales’ case, it’s an apt descriptor: soft-spoken in a sport characterized by bravado and at a position distinguished by braggadocio; soft hands that pluck sizzling passes out of midair. Hell, according to his high school coach, even his footsteps are soft.

Joe Casamento, the longtime football coach at powerhouse Christian Brothers Academy, remembers when a scout from the University of Virginia asked to listen to Sales run.

“What do you mean ‘listen to him run’?” asked Casamento.

But then he saw, or rather, heard what the scout was talking about. Sales was on the basketball court with his CBA teammates, and while they were obviously straining to run flat out as fast as they could, Marcus was cool, calm and collected.

And quiet. He was faster than all of them.