1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Making the move from Canada to the States.

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Rog, Jun 15, 2011.

1. Rog

Rog New Member

I'm a recent grad of a very good Broadcast Journalism program in Canada. However, I want to be a sports reporter in the US. I have ample experience in writing (news and sports) and also know audio and video (both shooting and editing). My problem is no green card. I have applied to a few jobs but haven't had much luck with callbacks. How much does that work against me? and can anyone suggest a best course of action for me to make the next move. I would be happy starting out anywhere... I just want the opportunity to get my foot in the door south of the 49th, and then take it from there.

Thanks.

2. Stitch

Stitch Active Member

I worked in North Dakota and the company wouldn't hire a Canadian who didn't already have a visa. You need to save a bunch of money, or else marry an American.

A small paper isn't going to pay thousands of dollars for you to spend a year or two getting your foot in the door.

3. spaceman

spaceman Active Member

take off, you hoser.

4. Rog

Rog New Member

A small paper is going to spend that money on whomever they hire, and many times it will be someone that is still learning the trade. Its the same as in Canada. I'm not getting on full time at the Vancouver Sun or the Florida Sun-Sentinel a year or two out of J-school. If you have the skills to make the paper better, shouldn't that be enough? (of course I could be wrong, I have no prior experience with work visas and that whole process)