1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Lots of numbers and play by play or the story?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Damaramu, Jan 27, 2008.

1. Damaramu

Damaramu Member

Ok so as a new graduate I'm still learning exactly what people want in a gamer. I've learned it's a ton of different things obviously and that everyone wants something different.

But, my style has always been not to bog the story down with numbers or play by play. I usually take the stance that there's a key moment or trend in the game that makes the whole game. Then I talk about that and the other stuff is there but it's not as big as that moment or trend or player that had the big game. I try to have my quotes and description revolving around that.
    I'll throw PBP in if it revolves around that key moment but I never do it for the sake of doing it.
    I was told by my ME at the time that my writing was very clean and easy to read. He enjoyed it because there weren't a ton of stats jumbling everything up. There were key stats but I didn't put everything in there.

Then I'm told by another sports journalist that people like numbers and people like PBP. I need to include more of that in my stories.

I'm just wondering what everyone's philosophy on writing a gamer is? I just feel like throwing all the numbers in there and a ton of PBP really makes it bland.

2. Overrated

Overrated Guest