1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Looking for advice from freelancers

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by thelurker, May 4, 2009.

1. thelurker

thelurker New Member

I'm a frequent lurker and occasional poster round these parts under my real name. Had to go undercover for this.

I'm considering making a go as a freelancer. Can't go into the details. I will say this, I have lots of quality experience in newspapers.

My question to the self-employed is this: How's the work these days? I'm guessing it would be harder to find, but I figured I'd go to the source. How risky would a move like this be.

Thanks to all and if anybody would be willing to chat with me in more detail, it'd be greatly appreciated. Just e-mail me.

2. Stitch

Stitch Active Member

I think you'd have to get Web, magazine and PR work to make it worthwhile. You should PM Dan Hickling. He does what you want to do.

3. playthrough

playthrough Moderator Staff Member

There's lots of threads on this; do a search.

I'm a full-time freelancer. Stitch is right, you can't make much of a living freelancing primarily for newspapers. And chances are you can't make it primarily in sports either. I've written about stuff in the last four years I'd have never dreamed of doing.

I think there was a theory that with all the layoffs/cutbacks in papers, mags, etc., more work would trickle to freelancers. I'm not convinced that's true, and if it is it's still tough because the freelance writer pool is growing constantly.

And if you're married to someone with a steady job and bennies, it's infinitely easier than going at it alone.