1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Looking for a little advice...

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Pluggin Away, Oct 10, 2014.

1. Pluggin Away

Pluggin Away New Member

Long-time lurker, long-absent poster...

In the eight years since I graduated from college, I have had the chance to work at two small dailies, working my way up to the sports editor's chair at each. It has been a rewarding experience, but one that has come at the expense of anything resembling a healthy work-life balance. So, during the past six months or so, I have been looking for opportunities that would either get me closer to friends and family, get me off the night shift or both.

In the past couple days, I have been offered a position at a twice-weekly that satisfies both those desires. It is a full-time position that involves serving as the editor of the community news section, while also serving as a sports/recreation writer as needed. In any case, it will allow me to get out and write as opposed to being chained to my desk as I have been for most of the past five years, and will greatly reduce the stress that comes with working under constant deadline pressure. And then there's that whole actually-having-a-social-life thing.