1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Life Insurance. I Have None. Do You?

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by Pete Incaviglia, Jan 15, 2009.

1. Pete Incaviglia

Pete Incaviglia Active Member

I'm almost 33 years old. I'm married. I have a 10-month-old daughter. I have no life insurance.

My parents began bugging me to get some when I was, oh, about 22 years old. I never have.

I have zero knowledge of what I need, how much it costs, etc.

Any advice? Like, how big of a policy (pay out?) would I need to cover my funeral and make sure my wife and kid(s) will be okay without me?

Also, I don't have a will.

I suck.

2. jps

jps Active Member

pete - go with 10 times your annual bring-home income. if your wife works, same deal. if not, she should still have a smaller policy - what she does at home, etc., does have monetary value when it's all boiled down. kiddo should have one that will basically just cover funeral, etc.

3. John

John Well-Known Member

No, but I'm single.

I am working on a will since I'm having some heart-related issues.

4. Ace

Ace Well-Known Member

Do they offer any through work? If so, I would get all you can.

Otherwise, I think you should look to get a term policy -- maybe 20 years. And figure it would cover your wife and daughter at least till the little one is in college.

It shouldn't be that expensive at your age.

You really need to get some. It's not for you, you know.

Oh, and I'm worth a lot more dead than alive.

5. Pete Incaviglia

Exactly. I think have a very small policy through work. It would cover the funeral and my wife's second marriage, but that's about it.