1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Let's try this again: Candidates and their qualifications...

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by CopyGK, Oct 9, 2006.

1. CopyGK

CopyGK New Member

I apologize for any harsh tone my previous post may have had, it wasn't intended that way. I am new to the message board concept. This is my question:

As an industry, many people feel it is important to reflect our readers in the newsroom -- having different races, sexes, backgrounds, etc., represented. And I agree -- we should represent our readers, communities, etc. But at what point does it become more important to have diversity in the newsroom than hiring the most qualified candidate?

I know some companies offer their papers a bonus if they hire a candidate of color, so, especially in Sports, which traditionally has been a white-middle-aged-male field (but is evolving), does it ever worry people that a hire is being made for reasons other than the paper's bottom line? And I am not specifically speaking about race, it's also an age issue, gender issue, etc. There are good and bad journalists of all races, ages, genders, etc., but at what point does an "advantage" become a "disadvantage"?

2. Clerk Typist

Clerk Typist Guest

Diversity and the lack thereof

Responding to CopyGK's threads: