1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Legitimate Patch.com question

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by ejhayes737, Aug 11, 2011.

1. ejhayes737

ejhayes737 Member

Hey SJ gang. I was referred to the board awhile back and have found some good stuff on here. I was even able to land a nice stringer assignment for Tuscaloosa News thanks to the board. However, I'd like to know why so many on here are anti-Patch.com. I'm an aspiring journalist and I cover high school sports for Patch sites in the Washington DC metro area. I also freelance for a local weekly. I will admit that some of the local Patch editors are sloppy and do allow things to slip through the cracks, but some are very observant and do their job properly.

As I said earlier, this is an entirely new arena for me. I'm just looking to refine my writing while accumulating strong clips in the process. I'd like to know why some of the seasoned journalists around here don't like Patch. Thanks in advance.

-EJH

2. rpmmutant

rpmmutant Member

I write for the Patch sites in Southern California. My experiences have all been good. There are some people on this site who are critical of everything, especially new technology and new ideas. I have used the Patch sites to try some new ideas, create videos with stories, link to related topics on other sites, create photo galleries and interactive packages. It has made me a more marketable freelance journalist.