1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Lecturing in journalism

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Leaver?, Jul 25, 2008.

1. Leaver?

Leaver? New Member

I have lots of experience in journalism.
    However, I’ve kept a close eye on developments in the last few months across the industry and I’ve just completed a Masters, as another option.
    My question is, how do I go about getting into lecturing/academia?
    Have any journalists gone down that route?
    Is there much demand?

2. Flip Wilson

Flip Wilson Well-Known Member

Yep, I've gone down that route. I went from a newspaper to an SID gig, and while there, got my master's. Finished my last class and the chairwoman of the department asked if I wanted to teach a beginning reporting class. I did that, and then we moved back to our hometown and I started as an adjunct at my undergrad alma mater. After a year of that, I joined the faculty fulltime. Teaching is a good, good gig. Hours are great, I love working with students and working on a campus is pretty cool. Pay is good, too, but other, more experienced faculty say it's not great. The biggest benefit of working here, however, is the ability for me -- and eventually my kids -- to take classes for free.

Feel free to PM me if you need anything else.

3. Mizzougrad96

Mizzougrad96 Active Member

What do you consider "A great salary"?

4. forever_town

forever_town Well-Known Member

Umm ... one you can live on?

In other words, not a journalist's salary...

5. Flip Wilson

Flip Wilson Well-Known Member