1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Learning page design

Discussion in 'Design Discussion' started by NickMordo, Apr 5, 2011.

1. NickMordo

NickMordo Active Member

I've been working at my current paper for about seven months now, but I've only been relegated to covering events and handling phones. Thus, I have no page design experience, hampering my potential job prospects in a profession where editors want do-it-all journalists.

So, what is the best way to go about this? How can I learn on my own? Do I simulate sports pages somehow or what? TIA

2. YGBFKM

YGBFKM Guest

Have you talked to your boss about this? If you tell him/her you want to learn, I would hope they'd be willing to allow you to build your overall skills.

3. Rhody31

Rhody31 Well-Known Member

It's fairly easy to learn.
    I was very apprehensive about learning it but now that I've started, I'm hooked.
    Downside is I'm now one of the most experienced at my office, so it's been tough to go further than I have right now with it.
    Ask your boss if you can start with something simple; a jump page, or something else. Then keep trying more and more.

4. NickMordo

NickMordo Active Member

Yes. He said at the moment they have more than enough page designers, which is -- I'm not gonna lie -- a blow to my psyche. I WANT to learn, WANT to be more well-versed. It makes me wonder whether I will ever get an opportunity to do other things there.

5. dirtybird

dirtybird Well-Known Member

There are papers with more than enough page designers? What a luxury.