1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Learning how to be a sports writer

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by sethcohen, Mar 28, 2008.

1. sethcohen

sethcohen New Member

I have been working at a weekly paper for the last eight months now. It's my first job out of college and I mostly took the job because it was the only one I could get that was near where I live.

However, as the sports editor and sole sports writer in this place, I don't have anyone to teach me anything about how to be a sports writer. The other writers in this place are either fresh out of college like I am or they've been writing at weekly newspapers for more than a decade, and they really don't have anything to teach me.

I don't know what to do, because at this point I feel like I haven't learned anything about the profession in my eight months on the job. The only benefit I've gotten out of it is being able to put the job on my resume and send off fresh, non-college paper, clips during my job search.

I'm looking for a new job, but in the meantime, how can I learn about being a sports writer when there is no one here for me to learn from? Things like just learning how to build sources and find interesting stories on a prep sports beat?

2. BujuBanton

BujuBanton Member