1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Juco gamer.

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by nicnameks, Feb 27, 2012.

1. nicnameks

nicnameks New Member

Dudes, just wanted to get some feedback on some of my work. I'm entering my fourth semester as a journalism student, and have been writing for the paper for the entirety of that time (though only about half of the work has been covering sports.

For a little more background I am currently majoring in print journalism in Juco and will be majoring in convergent media starting next fall at a four year school.

Here it is.

HCC runs past Ravens in fourth quarter
    November 11, 2011
    By Nic Wahl
    Short memories, second chances, staunch defense and a balanced rushing attack enabled the Hutchinson Community College football team (7-2, 5-1) to turn a fourth quarter deficit into a 42-17 road win over Coffeyville (6-3, 4-2), at Veterans Memorial Stadium October 29.

In a game that would determine home-field advantage for Sunday’s Nov. 6 Region VI semifinal game between these same two teams, it looked like HCC would be making a return trip to Coffeyville for a majority of the chilly October night.
    With just over five minutes remaining in the third quarter the two teams had clashed in a tough, physical brand of football that had resulted in a 14-6 Coffeyville lead.
    Freshman wide receiver and return man Jatavious Stewart trotted out near the HCC 35-yard line waiting for Red Raven Justin Hamacher to punt.