1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Journalistm ethics when journalism is your second job

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by farmerjerome, Dec 21, 2010.

1. farmerjerome

farmerjerome Active Member

No, I'm not talking about lowering your standards because it isn't you're fulltime gig.
    I've been thinking about this for a while now, ever since I saw the 'covering your kid' thread. A lot of you know that I work in retail. That comes with working with high-school age kids. Some of these kids are multi-sport athletes.
    I've covered athletes that I've had ties to before since I my high school is in our coverage area. Kids I knew in high school, younger brothers and sisters of friends, kids who worked summers on the farm, stuff like that.
    Now I work with these kids as well as parents of talented athletes, and some of them are very good. I've only had two questionable incidents. I interviewed one of the girls because she's a goalie and she stopped a game-winning shot. The second time I mentioned the sons of a coworker who's defense changed the tempo of a game that eventually resulted in a win for the home team (I mentioned all five kids in the line-up change). Honestly, there was no favoritism but it is a little bit easier to interview the girl. But it's also easier interview someone you've talked to once or twice before.