1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Journalist Hopeful Looking For Advice

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by gobucs12, Feb 3, 2009.

1. gobucs12

gobucs12 New Member

First time poster here. I'm a junior in high school, and I really want to be a sports journalist. I really like writing and I love sports so I think it would be a great career. I've been writing for my school's paper for 3 years now, and I'm starting to look at schools. I was thinking of Syracuse, Ohio U, and Duquesne as my top 3. Anyone here attend any of these schools? Which would you think would be best for getting into the sports journalism field?

Thanks

2. Stitch

Stitch Active Member

One question, are you for real? If you are, try the search function because the hounds will be released soon. I won't pile any more on, since it will be coming.

3. Mark2010

Mark2010 Active Member

I'm not sure it matters all that much which school you chose, so long as you get the opportunity to do hands-on stuff. Writing for a school paper, web site, working in the SID office are all good ways to gain experience before graduation.

There will be some here who will tell you that journalism is dying. Newspapers may (or may not) be dying, but there will always be a need for good journalists: people who can research, interview, write and edit copy.

4. Tom Petty

Tom Petty Guest

do you read this site? i mean really, you found the appropriate board in which to post this message, but you've never actually read journalism topics only?

you are not for real.

5. spaceman

spaceman Active Member

but is he PhoReal?

6. Stitch