1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Journalism Grad School: Is it a good idea?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by mikecoppinger, Oct 23, 2010.

1. mikecoppinger

mikecoppinger New Member

Just wanted to get the thoughts of the experts.

I recently graduated with a degree in communication and journalism concentration from George Mason University. I interned at several top outlets and have been freelancing a great deal since I graduated in August.

Do you think graduate school is a good idea?

Many people, including my journalism professor, have told me it is only necessary if you need to make connections. Others have told me it is useful simply to become a better journalist.

Thoughts?

2. Moderator1

Moderator1 Moderator Staff Member

What do you want to do?

Twenty years ago, I would have been more encouraging. These days, I'm not so sure what good it does. This is a very changed business. Get a masters in business.

Only reason I wish I had one now is most teaching gigs require at least a masters - so I don't think I'll ever be able to teach full time. But I love my current gig/adjunct situation so I won't look to teach full time unless something falls apart. Which I hope like hell doesn't happen.

3. ADodgen

ADodgen Member

I loved grad school. Loved the experience, definitely became a better photojournalist. That said, my answer to the OP's question is a definite, unqualified no. Not worth the money.

4. azom

azom Member

If you want to teach, yes. If you want to write, no.

5. Screwball

Screwball Active Member