1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Journalism Advice

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by WSykes, Dec 31, 2012.

1. WSykes

WSykes New Member

I've frequented this site regularly since I graduated from Hofstra University in 2010. I've found it very helpful and, at times, very amusing. I was hoping to gauge some feedback from you helpful and funny journos.

I am two years removed from my degree and I've been looking for sports writer/reporter jobs since. In that time I've done a lot of unpaid work that's been a great experiences including covering the New York Jets for the last three seasons for JetsInsider.com. Additionally, I've been producing/co-hosting a weekly one-hour Jets-themed web show entitled Flight5Live.com. We've had some big names on ranging from Curtis Martin to Santonio Holmes to Manish Mehta of the NYDN.

I feel like I've done enough to prove that I'm worthy of paid writing position as a beat guy for a college or pro level football team, but I keep striking out. Does anyone have any advice or shared experiences?

Anything would be greatly appreciated. Happy New Year.

Regards,

Wesley Sykes

2. If you think you deserve to be a beat guy because of unpaid work you've done for various websites, well, you're bound to be disappointed.

You should have spent your energy interning for newspapers or TV stations while in college, and working your way up the ladder.

3. Mr. X

Mr. X Active Member