1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Job opportunity advice wanted

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by rdh0924, Jun 10, 2013.

1. rdh0924

rdh0924 Guest

OK, folks, I'm pretty new to this site and hope you may be of service to me. Here's my dilemma:

I had a interview yesterday for a sports reporter opening at a smaller daily. I have a second interview soon and I believe I have a fair chance of receiving a job offer, which is great.

The issue is that even though most recent college grads would be thrilled with this opportunity (I graduated from undergrad last month), I am not sure if I should take it or not.

I am also a semifinalist for a bit larger daily to cover a BCS conference school, but the SE is waiting on paperwork to go forth and fill that position, so it's kind of a waiting game. I currently write and edit part-time for a large metro daily. I usually write a story a week, edit and rim/slot a night or two and produce the baseball page a few nights a week, too. I've been there for a couple years; started out taking calls, then did the Scoreboard page, and now have wrote and edited there for over a year. Last summer, I had a paid internship at an even larger metro daily (40 hours/week editing, and I wrote a story or two a week, too) so I'm used to large papers and am hoping I will acquire a full-time, salaried position with my current employer in the next year or two.