1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Job Hunting 101: The Follow-up

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Tierra, Jun 14, 2006.

1. Tierra

Tierra New Member

This is the part of the hiring process I'm terrible at - making the follow-up contact. Stumbling into my last two jobs made it a lot easier to get them.

It's been a week since I e-mailed up my resume and clips... Now what?

1) Phone call or e-mail? As an editor, I'd appreciate an e-mail that I can ignore a lot better than a phone call (or worse, a voicemail) I won't ignore. But as a job applicant, I'd probably like to initiate some conversation.

2) To the SE or to the HR employee I sent my app to? Maybe he hasn't even gotten the resumes yet.

3) What the hell do I say? "Wanted to confirm that you guys got my application" only goes so far."How's the weather up there this time of year?" "I really, really, really want your job so I can get out of middle management hell?"

I'm sure this has been covered before on here, and I'm sorry for asking it again. I did search a bit on the forum before posting this. Even got a new account because my old one was too easy to identify. :-\

Thanks in advance.

2. Ace

Ace Well-Known Member

Re: The Follow-up

Depends on the job and whether it was out of the blue or not.

If it was some job you saw posted and you sent your stuff in blind, you might check in after a couple weeks.

If the SE new it was coming you might shoot an email after a week -- wanted to make sure you got my stuff, see if you need anything else, etc.

Now is not the time to seem pushy or desperate.

3. 85bears

85bears Member