1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Job hunt questions for upcoming grads

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Stitch, Mar 30, 2008.

1. Stitch

Stitch Active Member

No, this isn't one of those posts that asks what I need to do to get a job after college. And no, I'm not in a situation where I've dreamt about being a sports writer all my life, but all I've really done is blog while watching SportsCenter.

I'll be honest. I'm a little older than most upcoming grads because I worked in IT for several years without a degree and wanted a change in life, so I went back to school. That's not the point.

I just wanted to start a thread where newbies can ask their questions and have them answered.

One to start it off. How many small dailies or weeklies want an a prospective employer to fly out and interview on their own dime? I've had a couple of editors asking if I could fly across the country. Of course I don't have the cash to pay $400-500 for a flight, hotel, and rental car for any small paper that seems interested.

Please post questions as well.

2. Chi City 81

Chi City 81 Guest

Most of them. I wouldn't do it, because, to me, that's just the tip of the iceberg regarding a paper's cheapness. But there's not really a right answer as to what you should do. It's entirely up to you.

3. Stitch

Stitch Active Member

I've already tell editors that I can't pay my own way. I use the rationale of paying $400 a trip for no guarantee of a job.

In my view, if a paper can't pay $1500 to fly three finalists in, there's no way I could do it.

4. jfs1000

jfs1000 Member