1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Is it worth it?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by OgCritty, May 29, 2014.

1. OgCritty

OgCritty New Member

Hey all,

So I'm having a bit of a career crisis and was wondering if some of you vets out there could offer some advice.

I'm a 22-year-old recent college grad looking for a job. I've interned in the sports department of two major metro's (both are in the top-30 nationally in circulation) and ran the sports section at my school paper while covering both the football and men's basketball beat. I've also completed an internship at one other smaller paper, and written for some online sites I'm sure at least some of you have heard of.

And after devoting the last few years of my life to becoming a sports journalist, I find myself unemployed just a few weeks after graduation with very few job prospects in journalism. I've already proven that I can cover high-profile events for noteworthy publications, but most of the full-time jobs that would consider hiring someone with my level of experience are in remote locations and cover a few local high schools. Not to mention, the pay is brutal.