1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Is it too late to do this as a career???...

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by NYstateofmind, Jul 6, 2008.

1. NYstateofmind

NYstateofmind New Member

...that's the ? that has been plaguing me for the past six months. I am 23 and in the process of making the decision on whether or not to pursue sports writing as a career again, this time for good. When I graduated HS in 02 i accepted a position as a part-time sports reporter for a daily newspaper in the immediate NYC area. After two years and 100+ clips, i left the paper to pursue something totally different. Now, a couple of years later and a lot of personal anaylsis, this is really where my heart is. I now live in the southern part of the country and I am looking for different schools to finish my degree. I have about a yr and a half left on a journalism degree.

I am sure you guys get a lot of these threads, but after asking many people and getting mixed reviews, i just wanted to get a whole other batch of thoughts. Any advice on where to start again, college choices here in the south, and anything else is much appreciated. Thanks in advance and PM's are strongly welcomed.

2. TheSportsPredictor

TheSportsPredictor Well-Known Member

For you, or for the industry?

3. NYstateofmind

NYstateofmind New Member

phenomenal response...ha....
    i guess that's a great point...

4. Football_Bat

Football_Bat Well-Known Member

Dude, you're 23.

Too late? To be a child actor, maybe.

5. Jay Sherman

Jay Sherman Member