1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Introduction

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Mustang 4, Mar 15, 2011.

1. Mustang 4

Mustang 4 New Member

Hey guys,

I visit this board frequently so I decided to make an account and introduce myself. My name is EJ Holland, and I am currently a freshman at SMU. I am majoring in journalism and sports management and have already gained valuable experience in the sports industry. I have recently been promoted to sports editor for the SMU Daily Campus, and I am working as a media relations intern for the Dallas Vigilantes. During Super Bowl XLV, I worked as a public relations intern for the NFL. In high school, I went to state in UIL for news writing, state in DECA for sports marketing, and was named an RGV Jr. Broadcaster of the Year finalist. My grades are pretty good too, I have been awarded the SMU Minority Academic Achievement Award, and I am part of the SMU New Century Scholars Program. I fluently speak Spanish. I have already interviewed people like Pat Summerall, Craig James, and June Jones and cover all sports from football to equestrian for SMU.

If you have any advise, suggestions, or anything else, it would be greatly appreciated!

Here are a couple of my recent stories and my AP story for the Vigilantes:

http://www.smudailycampus.com/sports/jerry-levias-honored-as-part-of-black-history-month-1.2042513
    http://www.smudailycampus.com/sports/oregon-s-lamichael-james-receives-doak-walker-award-1.2007181
    http://www.arenafootball.com/news/dolezel-leads-vigilantes-victory-over-command

2. Ace

Ace Well-Known Member