1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Input/advice sought re: a life-changing decision

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Dr. Ted Nelson, Jun 28, 2011.

1. Dr. Ted Nelson

Dr. Ted Nelson New Member

I've been a sports writer for 13 years, the last nine at my current shop, a 30K, 7-day a.m. We're a small staff, so we're reporters and designers, thus 99 percent of my shifts are 4 p.m.-1 a.m.
    When I started this particular job, I was fine with that shift because I was young and sans offspring. I thought it was a five-year stop at the most, that I would eventually move on to a beat job.
    Instead, the crash of the business combined with, if I had to be brutally honest with myself, my probably-no-better-than-slightly-above-average writing skills have kept me at the same shop and that same shift. In the meantime, Mrs. Dr. Ted Nelson and I were blessed to be joined by a daughter, who is now 5 years old and this fall will attend kindergarten all day (9-2). So if I remain in my current position, other than a stray hour or so before and after school, I will see my daughter, the crowning jewel in my life, 1.5 days per week: Sunday and half of my other day off, which is never Saturday.