1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

"-ing" in a headline

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by This is Howry do it, Oct 15, 2008.

1. This is Howry do it

This is Howry do it New Member

The other night, I (new at pagination) put a headline on top of some AP story with a word that ended in -ing (not "fucking", thought I thought about it).

Anyway, when I had the page proofed, one of the other copy editors said "everything's good, but you gotta change that headline ... don't use -ing in a headline."

Is this a real rule? Like I said, I'm new to this, so while I think that I've seen plenty of headlines like that in other papers, maybe (probably) I'm just an idiot.

2. Mystery_Meat

Mystery_Meat Guest

I've never encountered that rule, so it's either one that doesn't paid attention to, or it's one specific to your paper (or even more specifically, whoever's proofing that page)

3. Not knowing what your headline was, I'm guessing the copy editor was telling you to put a verb in the headline instead of a gerund.

4. Captain_Kirk

Captain_Kirk Well-Known Member

Put fucking in a few headlines and watch the readership go up.... ;D

5. Didn't you watch the VP debate? We don't use the "G" anymore.

6. nmmetsfan

nmmetsfan Active Member

Pictures work better than headlines ;)

7. SoCalDude

SoCalDude Active Member

Avoiding -ing was a general rule that news vets always followed. Then "designers" got into the act and started introducing hammerheads and label heads like ... every day. They were used on features then gravitated into news and centerpieces.