1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Indiana Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association FYI

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by crimsonace, Apr 4, 2007.

  1. crimsonace

    crimsonace Well-Known Member

    For those of you who are Hoosiers, here is the skinny on the Indiana Sportswriters & Sportscasters Association's annual Hall of Fame banquet, which will be held Saturday night.

    Jan Clark, Fred Inniger and Tom Kubat to be inducted into ISSA Hall of Fame
    Mike Lopresti, Rita Price Simpson and Dave Land to be granted ISSA Awards

    The Indiana Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association's annual Hall of Fame
    Banquet will be held Saturday, April 7 at the Adam's Mark Hotel near the
    Indianapolis International Airport.

    Festivities begin at 6 p.m., with dinner to be served at 7 p.m.

    To get there, take I-465 or I-70 to the Airport Expressway, then exit at
    Executive Drive.

    Dinner is $20 per person. An annual ISSA membership is $15.

    Clark, Inniger and Kubat make up the 11th ISSA Hall of Fame class.

    JAN CLARK worked for the Richmond Palladium-Item from 1963-1978 and again from
    1994-2003, serving all but two of those years as the newspaper's sports editor.
    He also has worked as a broadcaster in Richmond.

    FRED INNIGER has been broadcasting East Noble High School sporting events for
    WAWK-Kendallville and WCVM-Brighton. Inniger has called East Noble football
    games for 35 years and basketball games for 27 years. He has called play-by-play
    and color for those games.

    TOM KUBAT is in his 39th year as a sportswriter with the Lafayette Journal and
    Courier. He has served as the newspaper's sports editor and recently completed
    his 21st year as the Purdue University football beat writer.

    Also receiving awards are ...

    MIKE LOPRESTI, a longtime columnist with the Gannett News Service, who is being
    honored as the Corky Lamm Indiana Sportswriter of the Year. Lopresti is a
    national columnist for Gannett, but his Hoosier roots are deep. He is a native
    and resident of Richmond.

    RITA PRICE SIMPSON has been broadcasting sporting events for WRSW in Warsaw for
    33 years. She has called every IHSAA girls basketball tournament in that tenure.
    She is being honored as the Marv Bates Indiana Sportscaster of the Year.

    DAVE LAND, whose work with the Indiana Football Coaches Association has earned
    him the Bob Williams Helping Hand Award. The award is given to someone whose
    work provides a tremendous aid to those in the state's media.
    Also, if Moddy doesn't mind me shilling for another sports journalism site, we have created one for the association at www.indianassa.org.

    If you have any questions, PM me.

    (And, if you did NOT receive anything in your email from the ISSA this week, fire me a PM).
  2. Crimson,

    Thanks for the head's up. I did a tour of duty in Hoosierland back in the day, and these people being honored are first-rate, very deserving. I can't be there, but I'm glad to hear it.
  3. ogre

    ogre Member

    I had no idea Kubat had been at J-C that long. As someone who grew up in West Lafayette, I can attest that takes commitment.
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page