1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

In major need of some help/advice ...

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by for_the_hunt, Feb 7, 2008.

1. for_the_hunt

for_the_hunt Member

I'm an assistant sports editor at a fairly big daily college paper, and we've just come across something today that makes me sick to my stomach.

Without any notice or discussion, the general manager (I thought he was worthless before this, I might add) of this college paper has made a deal with Podunk Times when it comes our stories. The Podunk Times can now publish any of our stories in their paper or Web site without alerting us. They'll pay a very small fee for each story they use --- and the reporters, who work for free, will see nothing.

I don't want to become a wire service.

What's worse, the paper that can now use any of our stories (or photos) without notice is more than two-and-a-half hours away! It's circulation is only about 33 percent larger than ours --- and Podunk Times has a larger, competing paper (about double the circulation, I think) in the same town!

We pride ourselves on our football coverage, have three beat writers and write about a dozen stories a week just on football. We've broken quite a few stories the past two seasons, and The Podunk Times --- from our understanding after speaking with others in the business --- just eliminated their football beat this year.

Oh, and the kicker of it all? Our general manager has very limited experience when it comes to papers (surprise, surprise) ... and guess what the last rag this manager was at.

That's right, the very same Podunk Times.