1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

I'm an unintentional author -- now what?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by ArnoldBabar, Feb 24, 2009.

1. ArnoldBabar

ArnoldBabar Active Member

Tonight a high school friend wrote me via Facebook saying he was impressed at how many books I had "written." Curious, I looked myself up on Amazon.

I'm the listed lead author on one book our paper put out on my team's landmark season, and am referenced in a handful of other books that I knew about (Jose Canseco called me an idiot in his first book, which I consider kind of a badge of honor). Plus a few I didn't know about, which cited things I'd written with full credit and bibliography, which I'm fine with.

But in the list was a baseball anthology, apparently produced by a major baseball publication, that includes an entire story I wrote a few years ago. I'm listed as one of the authors of the book, a 450-page hardcover that goes for $30.

Thing is, I've never heard of this book and had nothing to do with it. And I've definitely never been paid for it. I'm surprised, pissed off and confused.

Has anyone else dealt with this? Any idea what happened here? Did my paper sell this behind my back? Did the guy who put the book together just steal it? Is it legal? Do I have any recourse, and if so, where would I start?

2. imjustagirl

imjustagirl Active Member

You were never honored when I called you an idiot.

3. ArnoldBabar

ArnoldBabar Active Member

Sure I was, but when it happens so often it kind of loses its impact.

4. imjustagirl

imjustagirl Active Member

5. BYH

BYH Active Member