1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

I guess I'm a coach now ...

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by beanpole, Jan 24, 2011.

1. beanpole

beanpole Member

Little Beansprout plays his first organized sport starting next month -- youth soccer. I mean, really youth soccer, as the kids are 3-to-5.

The league called me yesterday because our team's coach is having unexpected surgery. "Will you be the head coach?" Like an idiot, I said yes. Want to be helpful and do something for the kids, but as I told the guy, I've never coached. At any level.

I figure that my job is to help everyone have a good time and make sure everyone gets on the field about the same amount of time. But there's more to it, right? God help me if parents are freaks even for kids that age. I'd hate to blow someone's scholarship.

And I call in stats to the paper, right? :)

2. kingcreole

kingcreole Active Member

Teach the kids how to dribble, dribble, dribble. Forget passing. Just teach these little 'uns how to dribble.

3. Boom_70

Boom_70 Well-Known Member

You are doing God's work- teaching the great game of soccer to the youth of America.

The key to your enjoyment will be to select a really hot team mom to organize snack / drink schedule for season. 95% of the success of youth soccer is in the cuisine.

From your own standpoint try to remain inconspicuous on the sidelines. You need to walk away from season with your dignity intact. You're not coaching the World Cup. I once watched Mike Lupica run up and down the sidelines for an entire 6 year old game. I was embarrassed for him - watching his tiny legs churning.

4. bydesign77