1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

HS basketball gamer for feedback

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by SFIND, Mar 15, 2011.

1. SFIND

SFIND Well-Known Member

Stumbled upon this website today and hoping you professionals can help out a young guy. I'm a college freshman "getting started" in the business. I've been "working" for a weekly paper since I was 15 and have been reporting/writing the whole time.

I have yet to take an actual journalism course yet in high school or college, and go only off of imitation and what I've read in the AP style book.

With that said, I'm looking for feedback on game articles.

Below is a gamer I wrote of a local HS tournament game from the past weekend. Any critiques, advice, ect. is appreciated. (Note: readers expected to know/do know school nicknames).

(Have changed all names, locations, ect.)

Second quarter the difference as South falls 80-70 in districts

Mustang goes on 9-0 run in two-minute span in second and never trails again.

TULSA — In a game with 116 shot attempts, the result can sometimes boil down to a few lucky shots — and a few unlucky shots — that make the difference. In a Division I district final game between South and Mustang on Saturday, March 12, 2011, at Russ Arena, it was Mustang who had more luck.

The Tigers (18-5) shot 24-for-51 (47.1%) from the field on the day, including 12-for-23 in the second half, to knock off South 80-70 and capture a district final.