1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

How to mail resumes

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by True Son, Oct 21, 2008.

1. True Son

True Son New Member

This is a total newb question but how do you mail your resume, cover letter, clips, etc.? I want to make sure I send it so it looks professional but at the same time I'd like to avoid getting murdered by shipping fees. Thanks in advance.

2. devils_claw

devils_claw Member

everything on 8 1/2 x 11 paper, in order (cover letter, resume, clips), paper-clipped together in a manila envelope (so you don't have to fold the papers.)

Assuming you're not sending 47,000 clips with each package, should cost you about a dollar each.

3. HejiraHenry

HejiraHenry Well-Known Member

Agree with the above.

Once upon a time, I took to putting my mailings in red manila-style envelopes, just to stand out from the crowd. I can't say it ever got me a job, but once or twice interviewers remarked, and not in a negative way, about the red envelopes. So what the heck.

4. JakeandElwood

JakeandElwood Well-Known Member

I emailed the majority of mine, mailing if requested (when I eventually got a job it was one of the places I emailed). When I mailed I had a blue pocket folder with all that stuff inside of it put inside a manila envelope.

5. Smasher_Sloan

Smasher_Sloan Active Member

Staple it to a postcard. It will show them you're resourceful and probably won't be the type to waste pens and notebooks.