1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

How to act during summer internship?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by irnsdn, Jan 30, 2011.

1. irnsdn

irnsdn New Member

Hi everyone,

I'm a freshman in college and am looking for a summer internship at a newspaper in my area. My school does help me search, but I pulled up this thread from a while ago (http://www.sportsjournalists.com/forum/threads/29728/) and that was the only thing I saw about interns on this board. It wasn't exactly what I was hoping to read -- I'm curious to know what editors like/don't like from their interns? The last thing I want to be is an arrogant pest.

A few questions I have for all the editors out there:

1. Do you like/dislike if the interns ask questions? At what point is the line drawn between pestering and asking reasonable questions?

2. I'm not the type to act like I know everything about journalism, because quite frankly, I know very little. I've been writing for the school paper since September. That says enough, right? I'm hoping to get honest answers that will help me understand how I should act and what is the wrong way to act. I want to get better.

3. What type of work should I expect? Will I be doing a daily Dunkin Donuts run, or are interns used for reporting purposes as well? I just want to write, gain experience and get clips. Any help is greatly appreciated. If this is in the wrong place, feel free to move ths post.
  2. Stitch

Stitch Active Member