1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

How do I get "good" at asking questions?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by smsu_scribe, Dec 1, 2008.

1. smsu_scribe

smsu_scribe Guest

Hi, all. I'm a college freshman and I'm starting to develop a system and style to my writing. At this point in my journalism career, I think the aspect I'm in most need of improvement in is reporting. When I'm trying to formulate good interview questions (for gamers, features, anything) I often have trouble getting beyond the "feel" questions: How did you feel about your defense...about Johnny's performance...about their opponent's strategy.

I hate asking questions like that. It worries me that good, pulling quotes will be tough to come by if my questions become bland. So I just want input on how I can improve my interview questions. If I'm not being specific enough, let me know. Appreciate it.

2. Stitch

Stitch Active Member

Talk about your ....

Write down a few questions in advance and get in the habit of not asking how do you feel questions.

3. GBNF

GBNF Well-Known Member

1) Make an observation, and essentially have a coach agree/disagree...
    You: "In the third quarter, coach, they had three blocked punts. You were stuck in awful field position. How did that affect your gameplan?"

2) Have a series of questions and answers ready depending on a coach's response. Don't write them down. Just have them im your head.
    Coach: "Didn't really affect the gameplan at all. We were going to pass anyway."
    You: "Even when they dropped an extra two back into coverage?"