1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

How can baseball dinosaurs so consistently get Moneyball wrong?

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by poindexter, Jul 19, 2011.

1. poindexter

poindexter Well-Known Member

Listen, I'm no baseball expert. My last year of organized baseball was 8th grade, when I literally did not get a hit all season in Senior Ball.

But I get the concepts of Billy Beane. Its not rocket science. How can these baseball neanderthals be so consistently wrong about some pretty basic concepts?

From Bill Conlin:
    http://www.philly.com/philly/sports/20110719_Bill_Conlin__Athletics__Beane_has_been_Beaned.html

...The A's went for position players who put up good numbers in good programs, run scorers and high OBP guys. They also were big on BA with RISP...

Seriously? After all these years? You can't get the basic sabermetric stuff right? Billy Beane was looking for CLUTCH HITTING??

Pathetic.

2. TheSportsPredictor

TheSportsPredictor Well-Known Member

Wait, I thought the baseball dinosaurs were from this awesome generation and it was all the kids of today's generation who were a bunch of lazy bums who didn't do anything but tweet stupid things.

3. king cranium maximus IV

king cranium maximus IV Active Member

I mean, wrong wrong WRONG. Joe Morgan still thinks that Billy Beane actually wrote the book. That level of wrong.

4. Herbert Anchovy

Herbert Anchovy Active Member

[​IMG]

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 15, 2014
  5. LongTimeListener

LongTimeListener Well-Known Member