1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

How big a deal is high school commencement?

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by MTM, May 30, 2013.

1. MTM

MTM Well-Known Member

People at one of our high schools are going crazy trying to round up extra tickets to commencement ceremonies. Students were give four tickets with an option to get four more.

Parents are on eBay and Facebook trying to find more and some people are trying to scalp their extras.

All so Uncle Joe and Aunt Flo and cousin Mo can join mom and dad and siblings and all six grandparents at the ceremony (lots of steps).

When I graduated, my parents were there and one of my brothers. No grandparents, no cousins, no friends except those in my class.

I never would have thought of going to a cousin's ceremony.

High school was a pit stop on the way to college. I didn't see graduating as a significant accomplishment.

Why do some people make such a big deal out of high school graduation?

2. schiezainc

schiezainc Well-Known Member

Because it's a kid's last real "milestone" event that parents can participate in.
    As your high school years are coming to an end, so too is your time as an adolescent and high school graduation (while an overlong, bloated, meaningless ceremony) is the last time parents really get to participate in their child's major life events until their wedding and/or their kid's have children of their own.