1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

How best to display freelance experience on resume

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by mikecoppinger, Sep 10, 2012.

1. mikecoppinger

mikecoppinger New Member

Hi all,

I'm a young writer and have been freelancing for a major daily paper regularly for two years. What would be the best way to reflect that on a resume?

I've probably written over 40 stories for the paper and most have been about one sport.

Thanks in advance for any sage advice.

Best,

Mike

2. Versatile

Versatile Active Member

If most of the freelancing has been for one publication, on one sport, you can call yourself a correspondent. For instance, if you were The Miami Herald's regular curling freelancer, the title could be, "Curling correspondent, The Miami Herald." I would also include how many articles you've written for the publication, plus other assignments you've had from that company, if any.

3. mikecoppinger

mikecoppinger New Member

Thanks for the prompt reply, that's very helpful.

It's been almost all boxing for USA Today, with some NBA as well.

So I suppose it could read "Boxing correspondent, USA Today"?

4. ringer

ringer Active Member

You should still include the word "freelance" if you were not on staff.

You don't want to get busted for misrepresentation. I can think of at least one guy who got blacklisted from the NYT for overstating his position. And he wrote for them a lot.

5. mikecoppinger

mikecoppinger New Member

Ringer,