1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Hiring bias against sports writers?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by SnarkShark, Feb 25, 2013.

1. SnarkShark

SnarkShark Well-Known Member

I'm relatively new to journalism compared to others on this board (about five years) and I have been writing about sports for most of my career, but I have experience in news and have considered/am considering a move to news.

I can't tell you how many times I have been rejected immediately when applying for open positions in news because sports is my specialty.

In part, I understand, with the flood of resumes, why a person with a sports background wouldn't get serious consideration on a crime or local news beat, but the volume of responses I've received in this manner is concerning. I've always been a big believer that sports writers should all be able to write straight news (and do, when news breaks in the sports realm).

Is this something that has been happening for others? Is it a recent issue or does it go back well beyond my time?

2. Mark2010

Mark2010 Active Member

It does happen. People get pigeonholed. But, remember, it works both ways. If you've spent five years on a business beat, it might not be easy transitioning to sports.

I was fortunate that I had a lot of varied experiences --- hard news, sports, features, business, copy desk, etc. --- pretty early in my career.

3. HejiraHenry

HejiraHenry Well-Known Member

I'd (generally) rather send a sports writer to cover a house fire than to send a county government reporter to cover a football game.