1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

HELP ME OUT GUYS

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by anonymousbob, Aug 17, 2006.

1. anonymousbob

anonymousbob New Member

I'm new to this game in that I've been at it four years. I know that I do the job better than most. I have the cunning and verve to make it to a bigger gig one day, but I'm wondering if I'm chasing a rainbow down a manhole. What I need to know is are there any gigs out there that pay worth a damn, or do I need to change carreers if i ever plan on being anything more than a penniless rake?
    Some of you fellas who have been at this a few years tell me what your experience has been.

2. slappy4428

slappy4428 Active Member

Our best experience that this thread is best served on the journalism board. This is for job postings....
    Thank you. Come again [/apu]

3. Mystery_Meat

Mystery_Meat Guest

Before this gets moved: do you have the Verve or the Verve Pipe? There's a difference.

4. sportschick

sportschick Active Member

Exactly . . . the Verve coulda been one of the great bands of our time. The Verve Pipe was a one-hit wonder at best.

5. Songbird

Songbird Well-Known Member

I've been at this off and on for 15 years. Worked for pennies and peanuts. Been fired. Quit. Always found my way back to the best job in the world. Now I make mid-30K, which ain't so bad for a weekly in Bumblefuck Falls. My expenses are few, so the money goes a long way.

You won't get rich doing this, unless maybe you get a few book deals.

For the love of the game.