1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Hello SJ.com, I'm Austin

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by austinjs14, Feb 2, 2015.

1. austinjs14

austinjs14 New Member

Hello SJ.com and all the sports journalists out there. My name is Austin Smith. I am 30 years old and live in Frisco, Texas. I am currently in my last year of finishing up a BA in Mass Communications and Journalism at Ashford University (Online). I also attended the University of North Texas on two occasions. The first was as a football player (with very little help to my academic career) and the second was to get a teaching degree in Math so I could coach football and teach. I never finished the teaching degree, instead choosing to go for my dream to get into sports broadcasting and journalism. I would like to point out that my passion is the NFL Draft, but I have extensive knowledge in most of the major sports (football, baseball, basketball, hockey, soccer, etc.). I would also like to point out that I have very little experience. My experience basically sums up to running an NFL Draft blog (nfldraft365.blogspot.com) in which I posted articles as opposed to topics for around 5 years. That got me noticed by drafttek.com and I was invited to come on as a team analyst of the Denver Broncos. I have been doing that for the past three months and love writing about the draft. While it is getting me a little experience, it only consists of me writing comments about the Broncos predicted picks in each mock draft. I obviously would like to get more experience that can help build my resume. I would truly appreciate any advice anyone here can give me o