1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Goodbye SI Subscription...

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by qtlaw, Oct 4, 2019.

1. qtlaw

qtlaw Well-Known Member

I feel like I'm the last surviving subscriber. I don't have the same mailbox anticipation I did in 1972 when I got my first subscription from my older cousin (thank you Danice!!) but what 49 years later it looks like SI is going to be so bad that I'm no longer going to subscribe (https://deadspin.com/inside-themavens-plan-to-turn-sports-illustrated-into-a-1838756286). Man, I've loved SI so much over the years, Deford, Peter King, Dr. Z, Rick Telander, Rick Reilly, all the others I can't remember; plus the Iooos photos (no, not just the Cheryl Tiegs swimsuit photos) and other gamers. Please join me in giving SI one last goodbye.

OscarMadison likes this.
  2. HanSenSE

HanSenSE Well-Known Member

As I mentioned in the journalism topic and other places, I'm trying to remember the last time I saw the physical magazine not in a doctor's office. All I see now are some of the special issues (out here, during the Warriors' run) and, of course, the swimsuit issue.

I had my susbscription on autorenew, but forgot to change it when I had to cancel that card and it lapsed sometime at the end of last decade. At that time, it seemed like half the magazine was "Scorecard," kind of a weak attempt to keep up with ESPN: The Magazine, but I liked reading Rushin and Reiley. Took me a few weeks of not getting it to realize I wasn't getting it and decided not to renew since I didn't miss it.

Last edited: Oct 5, 2019
  3. Michael_ Gee

Michael_ Gee Well-Known Member