1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Going from news to sports

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Bob Sakamano, Feb 26, 2008.

1. Bob Sakamano

Bob Sakamano New Member

Long time lurker, first time poster.

Without going into too many specifics, I'm a May Master's grad with some experience (mostly sports) and two good to very good internships. Starting to apply and look at jobs for when I get done.

Essentially, here's my dilemma. As an undergrad, I double majored in both journalism and poli sci, and I have some political reporting background as well. I've already got one opportunity I'm looking at for a political gig that would be fairly good -- at least for a recent grad, that is. A lot better than the sports opportunities that I've seen/discussed.

However, like most folks here, I want to end up one day at a larger paper covering sports. I've already got enough quality sports clips to the point where taking a news gig wouldn't hurt me much with regards to that. But in terms of experience, do sports editors take news reporting seriously? Obviously, my opinion is that they should, but I'm not sure what the consensus is. On the one hand, I'm tempted to look at the higher prestige, higher paying gig... but I don't want to screw myself as far as ultimately moving into sports if that experience is devalued based on the news environment. So I'm curious if anyone has any experience or knowledge of this... thanks for any help.

2. lono

lono Active Member

Take the better gig and do a great job at it.

3. Tom Petty

Tom Petty Guest

how does someone end up with not one, but two shitty degrees?