1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Getting into the business

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by MMoore1985, Nov 12, 2012.

1. MMoore1985

MMoore1985 New Member

Hello,

I just registered for the site, and am glad I found it. I took a quick look around but didn't see anything regarding my situation. I'm sure it's covered somewhere but wanted to make a new post to introduce myself.

My name is Matt I'm 27 and I live in Chicago. I have always wanted to be a sports journalist as it combines two of my favorite things: writing and sports. I was a sports editor at my high school paper and really really loved it. I went to college to study Communications but ran into some problems in my life and got set back. When I went back I decided to study English and minor in communications. I excelled in my communications classes, wrote for the paper covering hockey which was an absolute awesome experience. After college I took on a couple temporary jobs hoping that something would be a fit, but as of yet it just hasn't happened.

Not sure if this is some kind of quarter life crisis but I have realized that I really need to get into sports journalism (doesn't have to be sports but that would be ideal). I am not really that happy and my job now and would like to begin to pursue my dream.

Does anyone have any advice on how to break in somewhere? It could be online (and online would probably be ideal as I need to work full time) but I am trying to look at all avenues. Thanks for the time, hoping to get to know some of you.

2. Dick Whitman

Dick Whitman Well-Known Member