1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Getting bored with sports

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Pulitzer Wannabe, Sep 5, 2007.

1. I'm a fairly successful sports writer with some name recognition ... and as time goes on, I seem to find myself more and more bored with covering sports. It's not that I haven't gone off the beaten path for stories - I've done stuff, quite a lot of stuff actually, where sports intersects with society, education, etc., etc., etc.

Yet, for some reason, when I think about staying in this business long-term, if I do, I can't imagine doing it as a sports writer and a sports writer alone. I read coverage of the Iraq War or of national politics or international happenings - or even stuff here like Hurricane Katrina and so forth.

This always comes out worse than it sounds in my own mind - it makes it sound like I'm disparaging what we do, like I don't think it's important enough or something. But I can't help the pull that "the other side" seems to have on me lately. I wouldn't even know where to begin, though, to get the kind of gig that would be as satisfying on that side as big-time sports. Columbia grad school? Switch over at my own paper? Ask for a few off-beat non-sports stories to perform here and there?

Anyone else ever feel this way? Maybe it's temporary.

2. Joe Williams

Joe Williams Active Member

See what they'll let you do at your own place. Can test water without making major move. But if you're on a coveted beat, be careful -- the folks in sports might see it as a sign that you're losing interest or vulnerable and make a move FOR you.