1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Future Sports Journalist

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by coreybodden, Jul 24, 2012.

1. coreybodden

coreybodden New Member

Hello, my name is Corey Bodden and I am an upcoming freshman at Marshall University in W.Va. I will be majoring in sports journalism and sports have always been a part of my life and being a sports journalist has been my dream job for a long time. I will more than likely be writing for the student paper The Parthenon and this will be the starting point for my journey into the sports journalism field. As of now, I am interested in writing game-analysis and maybe breaking out an investigative story here and there. Something I think I would love doing is being a beat writer for a college football team.

I've read over many posts on this site and see there are some very intelligent current and ex-journalists on here and I am seeking some help/advice.

I'd love to get some tips/advice from the current and ex-journalists on how to go about my career (based on info I have given) and helpful tips to enhance my writing skills and help my stories become interesting and concise. I do have one specific question I'd love to hear the answer to.

How did you go about breaking stories and finding new stories to cover that would be interesting to the public?