1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Freelance feature/profiles writer

Discussion in 'Freelance/stringer help available' started by ADanielPandR, Feb 25, 2020.

1. ADanielPandR

ADanielPandR Member

I am more of a sports writer than a sportswriter. Instead of game content, I pursue humanizing interview-based stories that readers cannot find anywhere else.

As a freelancer, I have contributed to newspapers, college and independent-school websites and alumni magazines, sports news sites, and sports/entertainment web magazines. I also logged five years as a staff editor and feature writer for Along the Boards/Pucks and Recreation, which specialized in “beyond the game” stories on people and organizations from the hockey world.

At ATB/P&R, I formed unique angles based on firsthand tips, tidbits in a subject’s bio, or an upcoming milestone for a given entity, connected with the subjects by email and phone, then built on those angles toward stories ranging between 800 and 6,800 words.

I am now looking to do more of the same on sports in general, so if you seek something along any of these lines, I may be interested:
    • Compelling narratives on sports personnel and their lives outside the arena
    • Intriguing backstories behind a fan base’s tradition
    • Retrospectives on bygone teams, leagues, or venues
    • Catch-up pieces on one-time notable athletes enjoying careers in other fields, or on one-time sports-movie stars
    • Profiles on unsung behind-the-scenes figures
    • Untold stories about the intersection of sports and pop culture
    • Deep dives into little-known fun facts