1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Freelance credential question

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by azbjn9101, Mar 30, 2009.

1. azbjn9101

azbjn9101 New Member

Late night reading and my mind started wandering off, thinking about possible freelance opportunities at the Final Four since I'm not too far of a drive.

Now, before you laugh, I'm relatively new at this compared to some of the veteran freelancers that are out there. I'm still in college, been doing it for 2 1/2 years but I do have a variety of good clips.

I haven't tried an event even close to this magnitude before and I'm guessing it's not even a possibility, but I mean what the hell, what does it hurt to ask ...

I have worked extensively with one of the city's newspapers and know some people I can talk to there and in the city's media market in general. my plan is to line stuff up with papers that can't afford to send people.

So how do I go about attempting to getting a credential to this kind of thing?

Feel free to tell me to get my head out of the clouds too, because that's what I'm expecting.

2. ArnoldBabar

ArnoldBabar Active Member

It all depends on who you're representing. If you get a legit paper to send in a request saying you're writing for them, you should be OK. If you file saying you're just going to show up and see if anyone wants what you're selling, not sure that will fly.

In my experience, Final Four actually seems to be fairly loose on credentials, though. Venue is much bigger than usual for the sport.

3. azbjn9101

azbjn9101 New Member