1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Free Lance Media Credentials

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by wordman, Mar 23, 2012.

1. wordman

wordman New Member

I am having trouble getting free lance credentials through MLB. Any advice on how to go about it or is it just certain teams that don't credential individuals?

2. The Big Ragu

The Big Ragu Moderator Staff Member

Did the publication/editor you are working for put in the request?

3. wordman

wordman New Member

I have requested them to do so. I was wondering if there was another way. I am new to free lancing and was wondering if there was a way to expedite the situation. Also have a sports photographer who ohas their own studio but doens't work for the paper that was wanting to be credentialed. I didn't know if everyone that is credentialed had to be officially tied to an organization or not.

4. Moderator1

Moderator1 Moderator Staff Member

Yes. I use a lot of freelancers and I request for credentials for them and detail the assignment. I can't think of any pro organization, or college for that matter, that will credential you just because.

5. Stitch

Stitch Active Member

If they want you to cover a team, the SE needs to get on the ball and do it. If the organization requesting credentials is known by the team's media relations staff, getting credentials could be tough.

6. Azrael

Azrael Well-Known Member

Mail fraud? PEDs?

7. da man

da man Well-Known Member