1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Football gamer

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by soxfan, Nov 27, 2012.

1. soxfan

soxfan New Member

Hey all, I am a young writer just trying to get better. I'd really appreciate any feedback on my work. Here is a gamer I wrote a little while back.

SCOOBA — What took East Mississippi Community College a whole season to build, Copiah-Lincoln's Joe Craig Junior destroyed in only 12 seconds. Down 46-41 with 21.6 seconds on the clock, following what appeared to be a game-winning drive for EMCC, Craig took a kickoff and ran 90 yards to the end zone at Sullivan-Windham Field to give the Wolfpack a 47-46 lead and send the Lions home for a long offseason.
    “I told Darius Guy to let me get it,” Craig Jr. said. “They blocked good and gave me an ally on the sidelines, and I just took off. As soon as I saw the hole, I knew it was a touchdown, because the only guy down field was the kicker, and I knew he wasn't going to catch me.”
    The kickoff was supposed to be a squib kick, but instead of bouncing around on the turf, it went directly to the deadly returner.
    Last week, special teams haunted the Lions in their 24-23 loss to Itawamba. This week, it was no different, as the special teams unit accounted for a missed field-goal, a blocked extra-point and a fumbled snap to go along with the kick return.
    “We should have just kicked it deep to him, maybe it wouldn't have been as easy,” EMCC head coach Buddy Stephens said. “It was a squib kick that never bounced. We haven't had a kick run back on us all season, and it was just unfortunate.”