1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Following high school athletes on Twitter

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by JexFraequin, Oct 20, 2013.

1. JexFraequin

JexFraequin New Member

I feel like I'm still pretty new to the guidelines regarding social media. Some members of the media in the town I work in follow high school athletes -- football players, volleyball players, soccer players -- on Twitter. Some don't. Everyone has their own reasons. What do you do and why?

2. JRoyal

JRoyal Well-Known Member

With what kids put up on Twitter, I think you've got to follow them. And I'm not just talking the bad stuff. If a kid you cover is a big recruit and puts his college choice on Twitter, you don't want to find out when the competition re-tweets him.

3. Mark2010

Mark2010 Active Member

Nothing unethical about following them. I wouldn't take anything I read there as gospel. I would always make a phone call, or at least an email, to confirm anything before printing it. People have been known to hack certain accounts and post all sorts of nonsense.

So, yeah, follow along, but take everything with a grain of salt.

4. JRoyal

JRoyal Well-Known Member

I'd bet more than half the time the "hacking" is someone regretting something they posted themselves. Or they're friends getting their phone and screwing with them.

5. Bud_Bundy

Bud_Bundy Well-Known Member

Our top football recruit announced his commitment on Twitter recently ... on a Sunday morning.

6. joe_schmoe

joe_schmoe Active Member